RSS

Former Blue Power Ranger Admits He Quit Show Over Gay Remarks

27 Aug


For those of you too young to remember the first group of Power Rangers to hit the scene, here’s a reminder: Amy Jo Johnson played the Pink Ranger, Thuy Trang played the Yellow Ranger, David Yost played the Blue Ranger, Austin St. John played the Red Ranger, and Walter Jones played the Black Ranger.

Why the flashback? Well according to TVGuide it appears David Yost has come out of the closet and revealed that he quit due to constant harassment about his sexuality.

“The reason that I walked off is that I was called ‘f—–‘ one too many times,” Yost said in an interview with No Pink Spandex. “I had just heard that several times while working on the show from creators, producers, writers, directors. … I, myself, was struggling with who I was and what I was. … Basically I just felt like I was continually being told I was not worthy of being where I am because I’m a gay person. And I’m not supposed to be an actor. And I’m not a superhero.”

Yost also admits the insults almost drove him to suicide. He was written off from the show in 1996 after walking off due to some discriminatory comments. After leaving, he suffered a breakdown, but has recovered and began producing such shows as Temptation Island.

To me this is just another example of how words can really hurt more than anything else. Prejudice and hate are a terrible thing to inflict on anyone, and it’s about time people stopped trying to criticize everyone else’s life and focused on their own. I’m really glad he was able to overcome this and start over, though I wish he had picked something better than Temptation Island to attach his name to.

What do you think?

 
 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
