RSS

Whatever’s On YouTube: The First IT Professional

30 Oct

As an Instructional Designer, my job is to train people to teach online. I’ve met a lot of wonderful people this way who are very enthusiastic to learn all that they can about the latest technology. Once in a while, there will be one person who is a little afraid of the new stuff they are about to learn. It’s not that they don’t want to try, they just feel that the computer will explode each time they touch the keyboard.

I tried really hard to find ways to ease this tension, that way they could relax and embrace the lesson. While researching, I received an email from someone who had taken the training before to a YouTube video that finally had what I was looking for.

The plot: Brother Ansgarr is having trouble with the new system, and puts a call to the HelpDesk in the first recorded event of an IT professional call.

I swear, I almost fell out of my chair laughing. It had a great sense of humor and drove home the point I was trying to make: all technology was new at one point, and once you get used to it, it will become second nature.

Take a look and enjoy.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 30, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
