RSS

Changes to So You Think You Can Dance: My Take

19 Nov

image

Just found a recent article on TVGuide that mentioned a few new changes to one of my favorite (if not THE favorite) reality programs, So You Think You Can Dance. If you remember, last year, the show played with the format and dropped the top 20 to just 10 (well, 11 if you count Billy, which I most certainly do), and then brought in all-stars from past seasons to partner them with. I was skeptical of the change, but I will admit, sometimes it worked. Remember Kent and Neil’s routine by Travis Wall? I bet you do.

This time, they are going back to a top 20, but will bring in 10 all-stars once half of the competition has been eliminated, in what executive producer Nigel Lythgoe hopes will be “the best of both worlds.”

“America doesn’t necessarily like change to its programs.” Lythgoe told the magazine. “But as last season went on, people realized the All-Stars inspired the choreographers to do even better and inspired the dancers to be stronger. The dancers had partners that knew exactly what they were doing.”

He is right. Some people really hate change. Sometimes, admittedly, I am one of those people. However, I did enjoy last season immensely, and look forward to the return of an actual top 20. But, I wouldn’t be who I am if I didn’t offer up my own suggestions:

1. Bring back the rotating string of guest judges, if only to have the fabulous Debbie Allen back on. I like Adam Shankman and all, but I miss the wide range of opinions that each contestant would hear. That way everyone gets equal praise, and not just the favorites of the three.

2. I know I am in the minority, but I really want Mary Murphy back. Yes she is loud, yes she can be a little over the top (okay, a lot), but her enthusiasm usually rubbed off on the contestants, who I really think looked forward to getting a scream, or a ticket on the “hot tamale train.” Plus, her critiques were actually pretty informative. Also, if she comes back, we can get some more Mia Michael’s routines done. See, everyone wins!!!

3. I don’t know if they can actually do this, and it really doesn’t have anything to do with the show itself, but if they could push for Cat Deely to get an Emmy nomination for being the best host out there, I’d be in heaven.

What do you think? Are you looking forward for this season?

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 19, 2010 in So You Think You Can Dance

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

 
